Frankel Takes Impressive Victory at Quincy

By Jack Walbring


 Ricky Frankel, Steven DeLonjay, Abe Huls, Bobby Anders and Austin Bercerra all took feature event wins at Quincy Raceways on Sunday April 28.

 Frankel had a great race night in the UMP Super Late Model division as he captured his first ever feature event win at his home track. Frankel set third fast time and won the Fast 6 Dash setting him up to start on the pole for the thirty lap main event. Frankel led every lap fighting off the challenges of Dewayne Kiefer and Mark Burgtorf to take the crowd pleasing feature event win. Kiefer held on for the second spot with Jim Moon coming back from the rear of the field to score the third spot followed by Burgtorf in fourth and Justin Reed in fifth. Denny Woodworth and Reed took the heat race wins.

 Steven DeLonjay took another feature win in the Miller Lite UMP Modified class by outdistancing Michael Long in second followed by Shawn Deering in third, Robbie Reed in fourth and Jake Griffin in fifth. The second generation driver, DeLonjay scored the fast time in qualifying and took the win in the Fast Six dash to dominate the nights racing while Mike Vanderiet and Troy Grotz were the heat race winners.

 Abe Huls scored the feature event win in the IMCA Stock Car division after a wild and wooly event. Huls had to survive several caution flag restarts but held off Jake Powers in second, Beau Taylor in third, Brandon Savage in fourth and Terry Houston in fifth. The heat race wins went to Houston and Huls.

 Bobby Anders held off a very determined Tony Dunker to claim his first feature win of the season in the Summy Tire and Auto Center IMCA Northern SportMods. Dunker tried every move in the books to get past Anders but Anders held him off every time. Dunker settled for second followed by Joe Bliven in third, Tanner Klingele in fourth and Charles VanZandt in fifth. Dunker and Anders were the heat race winners.

 Pat Dunker looked well on his way to take his second feature win of the year in the IMCA Sport Compact main event but as the laps wound down, a caution flag with two laps left gave Austin Bercerra and Craig Bangert a shot at the top spot. Bercerra managed to squeeze by Dunker to take the win with Dunker settling for second, Craig Bangert third, Kimberly Abbott in fourth and Hayden Goodwin in fifth. Dunker and Abbott were the heat race victors.

 Coming up next at Quincy Raceways will be another great night of pointís racing on Sunday May 5. Pit Gates open at 2:30, Grandstands at 4, Drivers Registratin ends at 4:30, Hot Laps at 4:45 and Racing at 5:30pm. Visit Quincy Raceways online at or call the Track Hot Line at 217-224-4100 for the lattest race information at Quincy Raceways.



Quincy Raceways


UMP Super Late Models 4/28/2013

Feature:1. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 2. Dewayne Kiefer (Ste. Genevieve, mo), 3. Jim Moon (Mount Auburn, IL), 4. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 5. Justin Reed (Collinsville, Il.), 6. Robby Warner (Quincy, IL), 7. Jason Perry (Payson, IL), 8. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 9. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 10. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 11. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 12. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 13. Mike Hammerle (Saint Charles, MO), 14. Vance Wilson (Quincy, il), 15. Alan Westling (Fulton, mo), 16. Donnie Cisco (Decatur, il), 17. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL), 18. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 19. Derek Fetter (Troy, Mo), 20. Jerry Lierly (Camp Point, IL),


Dash:1. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 2. Dewayne Kiefer (Ste. Genevieve, mo), 3. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 4. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 5. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 6. Jerry Lierly (Camp Point, IL),


Heat 1:1. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 2. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 3. Vance Wilson (Quincy, il), 4. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 5. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL), 6. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 7. Derek Fetter (Troy, Mo),


Heat 2:1. Justin Reed (Collinsville, Il.), 2. Jason Perry (Payson, IL), 3. Jim Moon (Mount Auburn, IL), 4. Robby Warner (Quincy, IL), 5. Mike Hammerle (Saint Charles, MO), 6. Alan Westling (Fulton, mo), 7. Donnie Cisco (Decatur, il),


Miller Lite UMP Modifieds 4/28/2013

Feature:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 3. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 4. Robbie Reed (Quincy, il, Mo), 5. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 6. Chris Spalding (Wellsville, MO), 7. Mike Vanderiet Jr. (Mexico, MO), 8. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 9. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 10. Shane Lewis (La Harpe, IL), 11. Mark Enk (Saint Ann, MO), 12. Ryan Porter (Colchester, IL), 13. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL), 14. Robert Thompson (Colchester, IL), 15. Troy Grotz (Quincy, Il), 16. Corey Botkins (Columbia, MO), 17. Danny Lake (New London, MO), 18. Patrick Phillips (Macomb, IL),


Dash:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Chris Spalding (Wellsville, MO), 3. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 4. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 5. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 6. Robbie Reed (Quincy, il, Mo),


Heat 1:1. Mike Vanderiet Jr. (Mexico, MO), 2. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 3. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 4. Patrick Phillips (Macomb, IL), 5. Shane Lewis (La Harpe, IL), 6. Corey Botkins (Columbia, MO),


Heat 2:1. Troy Grotz (Quincy, Il), 2. Danny Lake (New London, MO), 3. Ryan Porter (Colchester, IL), 4. Mark Enk (Saint Ann, MO), 5. Robert Thompson (Colchester, IL), 6. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL),


IMCA Stock Cars 4/28/2013

Feature:1. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 2. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 3. Beau Taylor (Canton, MO), 4. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 5. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 6. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO), 7. Steve Carlin (Hannibal, Mo), 8. Timothy Anders (Quincy, IL), 9. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 10. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 11. Michael Larsen (Hannibal, MO), 12. Ben Huff (Fowler, IL),


Heat 1:1. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 2. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 3. Steve Carlin (Hannibal, Mo), 4. Michael Larsen (Hannibal, MO), 5. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO), 6. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO),


Heat 2:1. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 2. Beau Taylor (Canton, MO), 3. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 4. Timothy Anders (Quincy, IL), 5. Ben Huff (Fowler, IL), 6. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL),


IMCA Northern SportMods 4/28/2013

Feature:1. Bobby Anders (Quincy, IL), 2. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 3. Michael Bliven (Quincy, IL), 4. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 5. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il), 6. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 7. Brandon Dale (Gorin, mo), 8. Jeff Delonjay (Quincy, IL), 9. Bucky Gollaher (Hannibal, mo), 10. Chandler Owens (Golden, IL), 11. Dustin Crear (Mediapolis, Ia), 12. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL), 13. Jon Lear (Barry, IL),


Heat 1:1. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 2. Dustin Crear (Mediapolis, Ia), 3. Michael Bliven (Quincy, IL), 4. Brandon Dale (Gorin, mo), 5. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il), 6. Jon Lear (Barry, IL), 7. Jeff Delonjay (Quincy, IL),


Heat 2:1. Bobby Anders (Quincy, IL), 2. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 3. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 4. Chandler Owens (Golden, IL), 5. Bucky Gollaher (Hannibal, mo), 6. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL),


IMCA Sport Compact 4/28/2013

Feature:1. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL), 2. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 3. Craig Bangert (Golden, IL), 4. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 5. Hayden Goodwin (Ursa, il), 6. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 7. Bryce Baker (QUINCY, IL), 8. Haley Porter (Macomb, IL), 9. Larry Powell Jr (Hannibal, MO), 10. Gary Stephenson (Quincy, IL),


Heat 1:1. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 2. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 3. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL), 4. Gary Stephenson (Quincy, IL), 5. Laine VanZandt (Camp Point, IL),


Heat 2:1. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 2. Larry Powell Jr (Hannibal, MO), 3. Craig Bangert (Golden, IL), 4. Hayden Goodwin (Ursa, il), 5. Bryce Baker (QUINCY, IL), 6. Haley Porter (Macomb, IL),

Updated and Maintained by