Burgtorf, DeLonjay, Dunker, Savage & Dunker Take Quincy Checkers

By Jack Walbring 

JULY 14, 2013 -- Mark Burgtorf, Steven DeLonjay, Tony Dunker, Brandon Savage and Pat Dunker all scored feature event wins during Heetco Propane and Ursa Farmers COOP Night at the Races on Sunday July 14.

 What the UMP Late Model feature event lacked in cars was more than made up by the thrilling battle for the feature event win. Denny Woodworth took off from his outside front row starting spot into the lead at the drop of the green flag and kept Michael Long at bay for the first half of the thirty lapper. Woodworth pulled to a significant lead during the mid portion of the event but Mark Burgtorf was clawing his way through the field and picked off Long on the sixteenth lap. Burgtorf then started to chip away at Woodworths lead a few tenths every lap until catching up to his rear bumper on the twenty sixth circuit. Woodworth held Burtorf in the second spot but coming off turn four on the twenty eigth lap Burgtorf jumped to the high side and powered past Woodworth to take the lead and the feature event win, his second of the year. Woodworth settled for second followed by Long in third, Ricky Frankel in fourth and Clint Kirkham in fifth. Long scored the win in the fast heat race.

 Steven DeLonjay continued his dominance in the Miller Lite UMP Modified main event by taking his sixth points feature win of the season in nine starts. Michael Long put the pressure on DeLonjay in the early stages of the twenty five lap event but pulled to the infield with engine problems on the nineth lap. DeLonjay then pulled away for the win with Robbie Reed in second, Dave Wietholder in third, Jake Griffin in fourth and Shawn Deering in fifth. DeLonjay laid claim to the fast dash win with Griffin scoring the checkered flag in the heat race.

 Brandon Savage ended his string of second place finishes in the IMCA Stock Car feature event over Abe Huls in second, Terry Houston in third, Jerry Jansen in fourth and Jeremy Buss in fifth. Kevin Tomlinson and Savage were the heat race winners.

Tony Dunker continued his control of the Summy Tire and Auto Center IMCA Northern SportMod main event. Dunker held off Tanner Klingele in second, Joe Blivens in third, Joe Hooper in fourth and Brad Holtmeyer in fifth. Blivens scored the heat race win.

 Pat “Skippy” Dunker grabbed his third feature event win of the season in the IMCA Sport Compact division after holding off Laine VanZandt in second, Brandon Lambert in third, Austin Bercerra in fourth and Kimberly Abbott in fifth. Dunker and Bercerra were the heat race winners.

 Coming up next at Quincy Raceways on Sunday July 21 it is the Haughbrich Distributing Night at the Races. The Pit Gates open at 3:30, Grandstands at 5:00, Hot Laps at 5:45 and Racing at 6:30pm. Visit Quincy Raceways online at www.quincyraceways.com or call the Track Hotline at 217-224-4100 for more information.


Quincy Raceways Results


UMP Super Late Models 7/14/2013

Dash:1. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 2. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 3. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL), 4. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 5. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 6. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 7. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 8. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 9. Cliff Powell (Hannibal, MO),  

Feature:1. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 2. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 3. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 4. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 5. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 6. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL), 7. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 8. Cliff Powell (Hannibal, MO), 9. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL),


UMP Modifieds 7/14/2013

Dash:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 3. Robbie Reed (Quincy, il, Mo), 4. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 5. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 6. Adam Birck (Canton, MO),  

Feature:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Robbie Reed (Quincy, il, Mo), 3. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 4. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 5. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 6. Patrick Phillips (Macomb, IL), 7. Adam Birck (Canton, MO), 8. Frankie Wellman (Quincy, IL), 9. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL), 10. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL), 11. James Leffew (Quincy, IL), 12. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 13. Ryan Porter (Colchester, IL),  

Heat:1. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 2. Patrick Phillips (Macomb, IL), 3. Frankie Wellman (Quincy, IL), 4. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL), 5. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL), 6. James Leffew (Quincy, IL), 7. Ryan Porter (Colchester, IL),


IMCA Stock Cars 7/14/2013

Feature:1. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 2. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 3. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 4. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 5. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, il), 6. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 7. Troy Brierton (Versailles, Il), 8. Kevin Tomlinson (New London, MO), 9. Jim Lynch (Donnellson, IA), 10. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 11. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO),  

Heat 1:1. Kevin Tomlinson (New London, MO), 2. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO), 3. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 4. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, il), 5. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 6. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL),  

Heat 2:1. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 2. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 3. Troy Brierton (Versailles, Il), 4. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 5. Jim Lynch (Donnellson, IA),


IMCA Northern SportMods 7/14/2013

Feature:1. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 2. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 3. Michael Bliven (Quincy, IL), 4. Joe Hooper (Mendon, IL), 5. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 6. Jon Lear (Barry, IL), 7. Trevor  Hagerbaumer (Quincy, il), 8. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il), 9. Jeff Delonjay (Quincy, IL),  

Heat:1. Michael Bliven (Quincy, IL), 2. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 3. Joe Hooper (Mendon, IL), 4. Jeff Delonjay (Quincy, IL), 5. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 6. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 7. Trevor  Hagerbaumer (Quincy, il), 8. Jon Lear (Barry, IL), 9. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il),


IMCA Sport Compact 7/14/2013

Feature:1. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 2. Laine VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 3. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 4. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL), 5. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 6. Kevin Brinkley (Hannibal, MO), 7. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, il), 8. Alex Baker (QUINCY, IL), 9. Jacob tournear (Quincy, IL), 10. Casey Lambert (Carthage, il), 11. Bryce Baker (QUINCY, IL),  

Heat 1:1. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 2. Kevin Brinkley (Hannibal, MO), 3. Casey Lambert (Carthage, il), 4. Alex Baker (QUINCY, IL), 5. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 6. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL),  

Heat 2:1. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL), 2. Laine VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 3. Jacob tournear (Quincy, IL), 4. Bryce Baker (QUINCY, IL), 5. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, il),

Updated and Maintained by