Pierce Dominates Quincy ALMS 

By Jack Walbring 

QUINCY, IL (August 11, 2013) - Bobby Pierce, Steven DeLonjay, Brandon Savage, Tony Dunker and Austin Bercerra all took feature event wins during Sullivan Auctioneers Night at the Races on Sunday August 11 at Quincy Raceways.

 Bobby Pierce dominated the Sunoco ALMS main event as he started on the Pole position and led every lap of the forty lapper to take home the $2000 winners check. Denny Woodworth challenged Pierce over the first few laps but slipped back when Brandon Sheppard powered past on the sixth lap. Sheppard tried in vain to catch Pierce for the lead but had to settle for the second spot at the checkered flag as Pierce worked traffic like a veteran. Jason Perry scored the third spot followed by Denny Woodworth in fourth and Ricky Frankel in fifth. Pierce and Sheppard were the heat race winners with Sheppard setting fast time as well.

 Steven DeLonjay continued his hot streak at Quincy by taking the Miller Lite UMP Modified feature event win. Dave Wietholder jumped into the lead at the drop of the green flag and stayed out front until giving DeLonjay an opening on the thirteenth lap in the bottom groove. DeLonjay then pounced on the opportunity and slipped past Wietholder and cruied away for his nineth points paying feature win in twelve starts. Wietholder settled for second with Shawn Deering, Chris Spaulding and Justin Reed rounding out the top five. Jake Griffin and Keith Pratt were the heat race winners with Wietholder taking the Fast Six Dash win.

 Brandon Savage scored his second feature win of the season in the IMCA Stock Car main event after a fierce battle between himself, Terry Houston and Abe Huls. All three drivers took turns at the front of the field with Savage finnally getting the advantage with five laps to go. Houston edged Abe Huls at the finish for second followed by Darin Lambert in fourth and Jake Powers in fifth. Huls and Savage were the heat race winners.

 Tony Dunker survived a mid race trip back to the rear of the field and gained his seventh feature win of the season in the Summy Tire and Auto Center IMCA Northern SportMod main event. Tanner Klingele opened the door for Dunker on the seventeenth lap and Dunker took advantage to take the lead and the feature win. Klingele settled for second followed by Brad Holtmeyer in third, Trevor Haggenbaumer in fourth and Charles VanZandt in fifth. Dunker and Klingele were the heat race winners.

 Austin Bercerra started scratch on the field for the IMCA Sport Compact feature event but the swift number twenty two worked his way through the field quickly to take the lead and the feature event win. Bercerra and Laine VanZandt put on quite a show over the final laps as they raced side by side for several laps until the checkered flag fell. Kim Abbott settled for the third position followed by Pat Dunker in fourth and Alex Baker in fifth.

 Coming up next at Quincy Raceways will be Kohl Wholesale Night at the Races on Sunday August 18. Pit gates open at 3;30, Grandstands at 5, Hot Laps at 5:45 and Racing at 6:30pm.Visit Quincy Raceways online at www.quincyraceways.com or call the Track Hotline at 217-224-4100 for more information.


Quincy Raceways


UMP Super Late Models 8/11/2013

A-Main ALMS:1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Jason Perry (Payson, IL), 4. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 5. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 6. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 7. Kevin Weaver, 8. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 9. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 10. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 11. Steve Thorsten (Milford, IL), 12. Brandon Thirlby (Traverse City, MI), 13. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL), 14. Dustin Griffin (Camp Point, IL), 15. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 16. Cliff Powell (Hannibal, MO), 17. Michael Long (Quincy, IL),  

Heat 1:1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 3. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, il), 4. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 5. Steve Thorsten (Milford, IL), 6. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 7. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 8. Kevin Weaver, 9. Cliff Powell (Hannibal, MO),  

Heat 2:1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Jason Perry (Payson, IL), 3. Rickey Frankel (Quincy, IL), 4. Michael Long (Quincy, IL), 5. Clint Kirkham (Camden, IL), 6. Dustin Griffin (Camp Point, IL), 7. Brandon Thirlby (Traverse City, MI), 8. Billy Genenbacher (Camp Point, IL),


UMP Modifieds 8/11/2013


Feature:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 3. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 4. Chris Spalding (Wellsville, MO), 5. Justin Reed, 6. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 7. Adam Birck (Canton, MO), 8. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 9. Dan Schlup JR (Wentzville, mo), 10. Tony Patterson (New Florence, MO), 11. Shane Lewis (La Harpe, IL), 12. Terry Gallaher (Hannibal, MO), 13. Gary Bentley (St. Peters, MO), 14. Jacob Sewell (Wellsville, MO), 15. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL), 16. Levi Smith (Donnellson, IA), 17. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL), 18. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), DNS. Troy Grotz (Quincy, Il),  

Dash:1. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 2. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 3. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 4. Justin Reed, 5. Chris Spalding (Wellsville, MO), 6. Dan Schlup JR (Wentzville, mo), 

Heat 1:1. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 2. Adam Birck (Canton, MO), 3. Levi Smith (Donnellson, IA), 4. Shane Lewis (La Harpe, IL), 5. Kelly Bartz (Quincy, IL),  

Heat 2:1. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 2. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 3. Gary Bentley (St. Peters, MO), 4. Jacob Sewell (Wellsville, MO), 5. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL),


IMCA Stock Cars 8/11/2013

Feature:1. eBrandon Savage (Canton, MO), 2. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 3. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 4. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 5. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 6. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 7. Adam Scott (Payson, IL), 8. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO), 9. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, il), 10. Troy Brierton (Versailles, Il),  

Heat 1:1. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 2. Terry Houston (Mt. Sterling, IL), 3. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 4. Jim Powell (Hannibal, MO), 5. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, il),  

Heat 2:1. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 2. Darin Lambert (Carthage, IL), 3. Troy Brierton (Versailles, Il), 4. Adam Scott (Payson, IL), 5. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL),


IMCA Northern SportMods 8/11/2013

Feature:1. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 2. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 3. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 4. Trevor  Hagerbaumer (Quincy, il), 5. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il), 6. Cody Henderson (frankford, MO), 7. Bob Cowman (Quincy, IL), 8. Chandler Owens (Golden, IL), 9. Taylor Lear (Liberty, IL), 10. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL), 11. Jon Lear (Barry, IL), 12. Rob Bowen (quincy, IL),  

Heat 1:1. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 2. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, il), 3. Chandler Owens (Golden, IL), 4. Cody Henderson (frankford, MO), 5. Jon Lear (Barry, IL), 6. Bradley Holtmeyer (Quincy, IL), 7. Rob Bowen (quincy, IL),  

Heat 2:1. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, Il), 2. Trevor  Hagerbaumer (Quincy, il), 3. Taylor Lear (Liberty, IL), 4. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL), 5. Bob Cowman (Quincy, IL),


IMCA Sport Compact 8/11/2013

Feature:1. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL), 2. Laine VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 3. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 4. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 5. Alex Baker (QUINCY, IL), 6. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 7. Kevin Brinkley (Hannibal, MO), 8. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, il),  

Heat:1. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 2. Laine VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 3. Pat Dunker (Ursa, IL), 4. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 5. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, il), 6. Alex Baker (QUINCY, IL), 7. Kevin Brinkley (Hannibal, MO), 8. Austen Bercerra (Carthage, IL),

Updated and Maintained by